Spaces: Leeds

1st November 2015 | 7pm-11pm | Wharf Chambers, Leeds

SPACES was our major project for 2015 and our first UK tour funded by Arts Council England, which saw us join forces with Slip imprint to commission a series of new audio/visual pieces from an emerging generation of distinctive British artists. Over a series of three UK-wide events, three collaborative works from three pairings of emerging filmmakers and musicians were presented as site-specific events featuring accompanying material curated specifically to explore each individual context.

The project encompassed Video Jam's objective to explore and reconsider the relationship between moving image and live sound, and Slip Discs' continued commitment to carefully curating records and events that support the next generation of idiosyncratic music makers. Together, both organisations united as the go-between in bringing together these three unique pairings to each create a new, third entity to be witnessed as a live experience. The series compiles a variety of distinctive methods of working and approaches to sound and image from each pairing which illuminate one another.


Running Order 

Act 1: Thus Spoke the Wulf (20 mins) by WULF (Paul Daly, Tom O'Meara and Scout Stuart) & Spaak (Joe Snape)

Special guest: Rian Treanor 

Act 2:  Filters (20 mins) by James Snazell and Max Hampshire


Special guest: Negra Branca

Act 3: Film as Fabric, Lace and Thread (20 mins) by Mary Stark & Chaines


About Slip

Slip is an experimental record label based in the UK releasing music which negotiates the fringes of instrumental and contemporary electronic music in extremely limited, handmade runs. Since 2012, the label has focused on rallying a growing community of idiosyncratic artists, curating live performances, ranging from intimate instrumental settings to basement clubs. Showcases play with the implications of the spaces they occupy in a sincere attempt to expand their basic function. 

On record and/or live the label have hosted:
Leo Abrahams, Bass Clef, Tom Bayman, Chaines, Oliver Coates, Dori Deng, Mark Fell, Hana Fujimoto, David Futers, Larry Goves, Heatsick, Mica Levi (a.k.a. Micachu), Tom McKinney, MFAAH, Mira Calix, Aisha Orazbayeva, Aaron Parker, Quentin Haas, Sam Quill, REFUSENIK, Tom Rose, Conor Thomas, Laurie Tompkins, Ian Vine and Matthew Welton.