Abandon Normal Devices

Annually, Abandon Normal Devices (A/N/D) invites a collective to respond to a special feature film and local site. This year we were invited to curate a Video Jam programme to mark the centenary of the birth of Austrian inventor and actress Hedy Lamarr, who not only changed the way we communicate today, but was also star of the silver screen. The event was set in Liverpool Cathedral’s Lady Chapel, the first part of Liverpool Anglican Cathedral to be built, which features the famous ‘Noble Women’ stained glass windows depict pioneering women who transformed people’s lives through work in such areas as public health, education and the arts. This was the Chapel’s first ever public film screening. 


Running order

Act 1: Timbre by Kara Blake scored by Jonathan Hering

Feature Film Screening curated by A/N/D: Experiment Perilous

Act 2: Baraka (extract) directed by Ron Fricke scored by Ex-Easter Island Head

Act 3: The Time that Remains by Soda_Jerk scored by Horrid 

Act 4: the Internet is handmade by Hannah and Amy Buckley scored by Letters To Fiesta 


About Abandon Normal Devices

A/N/D is a catalyst for new approaches to art-making and digital invention, commissioning ground breaking projects which challenge the definitions of art and moving image.

Inviting artists to hijack the imagination, by developing projects which abandon traditional settings and partnerships, A/N/D brings together an eclectic mix of academics, filmmakers, scientists and anarchists to actively push the boundaries of audience experience and arts production.

To date A/N/D has commissioned 60 new works and has worked with pioneering and award winning artists, which now amounts to over 300 contemporary artists including Aram Bartholl, Eva and Franco Mattes, the award winning Julian Oliver, Brody Condon, Molleindustria, Ubermorgan, HeHe, Andrew Kötting, Matthew Plummer Fernandez, Heath Bunting, Oreet Ashery, Apichatpong Weerasethakul, Stephen Fortune, Carolee Schneeman, Krzysztof Wodiczko, Gillian Wearing, Phil Collins, Rafael Lozano Hemmer, The Yes Men, Centre of Attention and Jamie King.